Elxis CMS Forum

Extensions => Components => Topic started by: rentasite on December 23, 2010, 12:03:51

Title: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: rentasite on December 23, 2010, 12:03:51

Hi, im developing a site with the use of IOS eShop, related to Bijoux & Accessories. But we have an issue with the product's weight.

I insert: 0.065 Kgr for a product's weight... and automatically it's been rounded to 0.07 Kgr.

Question
- How can i make it, to show exactly the weight i insert. Cause... 0.065 of gold does not surely cost the same as 0.07Kgr.
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: CREATIVE Options on December 23, 2010, 12:38:01
The function that you have to search and change is the "number_format" read more: http://php.net/manual/en/function.number-format.php (http://php.net/manual/en/function.number-format.php)
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: rentasite on December 23, 2010, 12:39:52

I'll say it in Greek: my issue is... Στρογγυλοποίηση
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: CREATIVE Options on December 23, 2010, 13:12:25
Yes
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: rentasite on December 23, 2010, 13:18:55

Let's make it more easier... Another solution could be, if that K from Kgr ...can be deleted (?)
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: CREATIVE Options on December 23, 2010, 13:30:43
language file
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: ks-net on December 23, 2010, 17:33:13
this is the shipping weight of the packaged product rather than the actual product weight

it is used to calculate shipping cost etc! thats why it rounds the value...

yes need to modify the language files to makes this clear to customers...
change for example  "weight" to "shipping-weight"...

and write inside the description the ounces(gold is calculated in ounces)

Suggestion for next release:
this field is just kgr  but must have options for other country such us lbs or oz
not all countrys uses kgr






Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: CREATIVE Options on December 23, 2010, 17:40:59
I know that Kostas, but Spiros will use the weight as status of the product, in julery the weight of x is related to cost.

Am I right Spiro?
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: ks-net on December 23, 2010, 17:55:39
Yes i know that you know..

i had the same problem as Spiros

customers confuses with this "weight" which is "shipping weight"

suggestion for next release to have 2 parameters for every product:
product-clear-contents =  kg,gr,oz,ft,inch,cm,mm,lt  etc...
shipping-weight or packaged-weight  = kg,gr,oz etc...
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: ks-net on December 23, 2010, 18:03:20
Idea....

1- modify lang-files and change "weight" to "packaged-weight"  or hide weight from e-shop configuration-page
2- add an other addon-characteristic in the product type ... the "product-weight" and write what ever you want!

this will work like a charm .... ;)eee?
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: CREATIVE Options on December 23, 2010, 18:13:43
I thing that is not necesary.

It is logical that the shiping cost is calculate based on the total weight of all the products.
And the weight is the weight of each product.

Spyros need to have 3 decimals on the weight because the products has weight LOWER than 1.
So I come back at my first answer, I thing is the most correct and officiant & not confusing for the eshop owner.

Spiros if you need help in the code part, do not hesitate to contact me any time.
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: ks-net on December 23, 2010, 18:24:16
Quote
It is logical that the shiping cost is calculate based on the total weight of all the products.
And the weight is the weight of each product.

thats not correct... shipping weight is always higher than the product weight
and much higher than the actual  content weight ...


if you have added the clear product  content weight(notice not always weight but lt,ml,oz etc) ... then you will have a  wrong shipping-cost calculation
if you add the packaged-weight then you will confuse customers....   

thats why many eshops uses two fields there... packaged-weight and product-weight(or product contents lt,ml,oz,ft,cm,mm)
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: rentasite on December 23, 2010, 19:22:22

Based on Kosta's answer...
this is the shipping weight of the packaged product rather than the actual product weight

I think that a solution is: to modify lang-files and change "weight" to "packaged-weight".  As for the golden accessories, the true weight (ounces) can be mentioned in the description. OK with this...

But how about the "Στρογγυλοποίηση"?? (can't find an English word :P ).

Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: ks-net on December 23, 2010, 19:26:45
Quote
But how about the "Στρογγυλοποίηση"?? (can't find an English word Tongue ).

it is easy... rounding

more  info
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rounding
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: rentasite on December 23, 2010, 19:31:03

 Ok i'll ask Datahell about the rounding issue.

Thanks!
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: ks-net on December 23, 2010, 19:57:19
In case you Find it useful(you or others) :

all you need i think is this...
http://www.healthwithaloe.gr/eshop/drinks-aloe-vera/1.html

look at product details at the link i posted...

this is how i solved the issue with the  product-content(weight or volume) and the packaged-weight... i think you need the same solution

i think this will be ok...

why to have the third decimal in the weight?
this weight is used to calculate shipping cost
post offices do not need 3 decimals?

you only want to show the actual net-weight of the product to customers...

use an addon-characteristic! as i did!
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: datahell on December 25, 2010, 09:43:47
The product's weight is used only to calculate shipping cost under some shipping methods and not the product's cost itself. Some grams above or bellow have almost zero affect on shipping cost calculation. So 0.065 and 0.070, or even 0.100, are almost the same. The postal service will charge you the same amount for such lightweight packages. 2 decimals are enough to display such numbers. You don't need more.

For your customer's information create an extra field, like ks-net told you, and write any info you wish in there (like oz, litters, etc). You can also make this field searchable if you wish.

IOS Eshop also have the option to switch between kgr and lbs. Check out IOS Eshop configuration for this.
private $WEIGHT_UNIT = 'kgr';

Good job ks-net at healthwithaloe.gr, congratulations!
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: CREATIVE Options on December 25, 2010, 10:13:20
Datahell the change of "number_format" to show 3 decimals is wrong ?
Title: Re: IOS eShop - Weight issue
Post by: datahell on December 25, 2010, 18:58:08
The weight is stored in database with 2 decimals, so what if you show afterwards 3 decimals? You have already lost the 3rd decimal's precision...