Elxis CMS Forum

Support => Technical support => Topic started by: benone on October 13, 2009, 01:34:23

Title: Problem with Ads Code
Post by: benone on October 13, 2009, 01:34:23
Hi everyone.

I have read the posts regarding the ff problem but I still don't know how to go about this. Excuse me for bombarding the forum with too many newbie questions but I assure you that I'm learning a lot from you:

I got a code from an affiliate and tried to apply it. This was what I did; I went to site bot, opened the TinyMCE WYSIWYG Editor and deleted the "Script".
Next I created a module and saved it with "Super Administrator" access level
I prepared the html code like this:

<html>
<head>
  <meta content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1"
 http-equiv="content-type">
  <title></title>
</head>
<body>
<br>
<script type="text/javascript">
mxr_ad_tag = "xxxxxxxxxx"; mxr_ad_width = "728"; mxr_ad_height = "90";</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="source url"></script>
</body>
</html>

Next I opened the module to paste the above code into the Parameters box but I get PHP Error [Warning]:

URI: index2.php?option=com_mambots&client=&task=editA&hidemainmenu=1&id=23
Path: /includes/domit/xml_domit_lite_parser.php
Line: 1033
file_get_contents(/home/www/mysite.com/mambots/content/numodule.xml) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory


I'm thinking of going to check permissions for "numodule.xml" but I don't know if that will work. Please help me. I've not done this before. Thanks in advance.


PS: Am I supposed to set "allow_url_fopen" on in my custom php.ini?
      With this great SEO Pro that I can turn on from my admin area, do I still have to submit my site for google search engine?
Title: Re: Problem with Ads Code
Post by: ks-net on October 13, 2009, 01:48:25
Quote
<script type="text/javascript">
mxr_ad_tag = "xxxxxxxxxx"; mxr_ad_width = "728"; mxr_ad_height = "90";</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="source url"></script>
this is only what you need(must) add to the module (paste code with tinymce in html mode)

***

Quote
Next I opened the module to paste the above code into the Parameters box but I get PHP Error [Warning]:

URI: index2.php?option=com_mambots&client=&task=editA&hidemainmenu=1&id=23
Path: /includes/domit/xml_domit_lite_parser.php
Line: 1033
file_get_contents(/home/www/mysite.com/mambots/content/numodule.xml) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory

numodule.xml ? i don't know any module with that name! are you using a foreign module? BEWARE!!! you don't even need it!


to add any kind of javascript in you site you can do as described here
http://wiki.elxis.org/wiki/Google_AdSense_custom_module
although is for google adsense .. it applys to any javascript.

***

seo is not relative to allow_url_fopen ... or other php configuration
please setup-secure your server as described here:
http://wiki.elxis.org/wiki/PHP_settings
Title: Re: Problem with Ads Code
Post by: benone on October 13, 2009, 04:35:53
Aha! I think I was totally lost. You mean I should create a new module under "Modules>Site Module>Modules Manager: New", give it any title, select the Edit HTML Source at the tinyMCE editor and paste my code there??? ::)
If yes, what access level should be applied? Thanks again.
Title: Re: Problem with Ads Code
Post by: ks-net on October 13, 2009, 04:53:31
correct!

**

access level?

who do you want to see it? ... your visitors( ::)) .. so public .. i guess
Title: Re: Problem with Ads Code
Post by: benone on October 13, 2009, 13:43:28
Great! now I can place ads anywhere I like.

Now you can see my site and advice what I can do "cybertrony.com"
I want to know if Elxis has any tool or fast way to populate items from amazon.com.
I want to link each section and category to the correct amazon page so that visitors who want information on any item will land quickly at amazon through my link. I already have associate account and am thinking to link stuffs fast. I don't want to mess up things yet! THANKS.

PS: Product links or Widgets, which is best?