Elxis CMS Forum

Support => General => Topic started by: xmanhattan on May 18, 2009, 18:04:09

Title: contact link error
Post by: xmanhattan on May 18, 2009, 18:04:09
Hello all,

I input 1 new category and 2 new contacts and for some reason, I am receiving an error due to the link being wrong after clicking on contact.  After this I deleted both contact categories and contacts, and the program responded by saying that there where none correctly.  Then I did a clean cache and empty temporary. I then added the 2 new categories and the 2 contacts but it still did not work displaying:
Requested contact not found or you are not allowed to access it.

The link that the program is giving me is:
Code: [Select]
index.php?option=com_contact&task=view&contact_id=1&Itemid=19
but after checking the id's of the contacts, I found that by changing the input link to:
Code: [Select]
index.php?option=com_contact&task=view&contact_id=5&Itemid=19
I have seen this somewhere else in the forum but I haven't found where I can change this in the database.

Please tell me which table the contact_id is being referred from so that I can correct it using phpmyadmin.

This site is not online.

Title: Re: contact link error
Post by: xmanhattan on May 21, 2009, 18:00:35
Hmmm, just took time to look and see where the problem was.

Aparantly, the first 2 contact items id are not updated correctly.  Easiest way that I found to correct this is to backup the database sql to your system.  Then using ONLY a utf-8 editor, open the backup.sql file and do a search using part of the link that has an error in it.

e.g.
searched using the editor
Code: [Select]
com_contact&task=view&contact_id=5&Itemid=19
changed to
Code: [Select]
com_contact&task=view&contact_id=5&Itemid=19
Then I simply increased the id to 6 for the Greek id.  Now it works normally.

I found that this error occurs in the English and Greek of the first 2 contacts.  I don't know if this would increase if you had added more languages during the installation.

Title: Re: contact link error
Post by: datahell on May 21, 2009, 19:28:10
I have n't noticed this problem again. To make this clear and be able to reproduce the problem, when you create a menu item to a second contact person it gets the same link as the first one? It sounds strange to me as I have many times done this.
Title: Re: contact link error
Post by: xmanhattan on May 21, 2009, 20:38:04
Hello datahell,

It is a strange problem.  It doesn't happen all the time because I have installed elxis using wamp into 5 different directories now and this is only the second time since a long time ago.

I edited the first contact item that was provided through the default elxis data installation.  That appeared to work okay, then I created the Greek contact category and then the Greek contact details.  After that, it didn't work.
I figured that it might have to do with the database index so I did a repair and optimize but that didn't work.

After that I checked the id's of both contact category and details and found the problem.

After I changed that it worked.
Title: Re: contact link error
Post by: xmanhattan on May 29, 2009, 16:53:27
I think that I have pin-pointed the problem with contacts.

If you go to the contact categories, with the Site Contacts that is already loaded from the demo data, then click new, you should see that the new contact details does not have a section.  It will display N/A.

After looking at the demo contact that is there I noticed that it shows:
Section:      com_contact_details

So I believe that this is where the problem may starts.  That is why even after deleting the demo contact data completely, it still didn't work.

In order to avoid this, I simply changed the test contact manager data but when I added a second contact through the contact manager, it still lost it's index or increment somehow.

Just thought you might like to know this as it just happened to me again.

Nope, I thought that I was on the right track to analyzing this little problem but now I believe that it must have to do with the contact manager function and not the contact category.
For some reason on 2 new tests, I found that the contact_id is where something goes wrong.
Code: [Select]
index.php?option=com_contact&task=view&contact_id=1&Itemid=62Although it may show it = 1, after either changing or deleting the contact it does not see the new id #.
I corrected the number to 2 in one test and 5 in another after adding a few more contacts.