Elxis CMS Forum

Support => Administration => Topic started by: yiannos on November 10, 2006, 15:10:15

Title: [solved] Bug when registering a new user
Post by: yiannos on November 10, 2006, 15:10:15
New user registration.

Conditions: No same emails allowed and user registers with an already existing email address.

Effect: Dialog comes up with no content at all.
Title: Re: Bug when registering a new user
Post by: eliasan on November 12, 2006, 11:20:59
Hi,

This is indeed a bug. It is fixed in version 2006.4.

Until then, you may open file /components/com_registration/registration.php, go to line 271 and replace existing line with this:

echo "<script> alert('".$row->getError(). " " . _E_REGWARN_EMAIL_INUSE . "'); window.history.go(-1); </script>\n";
 
Title: Re: Bug when registering a new user
Post by: naspor on November 13, 2006, 01:53:15
I'm writting here another problem, related to the registration subject.

When I registered myself as a new user, I got an error message in "chinese-like" characters.

I don't know what it was saying or what i did wrong.

Can you help me with that?


[old attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Bug when registering a new user
Post by: eliasan on November 13, 2006, 08:11:34
Please switch to English anf try the same procedure or keep administration in Greek and use FireFox.
In either case you will be able to read the message and post it here.
Title: Re: Bug when registering a new user
Post by: naspor on November 13, 2006, 15:56:17
I Tried firefox.
finally I could see the "chinese characters" in my language. (see the attached screenshot), though I can not understand the reason for that message.

With IE6 nad IE7 the problem persists

Any suggestions?


[old attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Bug when registering a new user
Post by: naspor on November 13, 2006, 15:59:10
I swithed in latin.
Again -->

[old attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Bug when registering a new user
Post by: yiannos on November 13, 2006, 16:08:12
The reason for the message is the fact that you are using the underscore character in the username. The message says that you must use characters from the alphabet and normal numerics ONLY.

HTH
Title: Re: Bug when registering a new user
Post by: eliasan on November 14, 2006, 06:33:49
yiannos is right.
The reason for the error message is the use of underscore "_", character.
As the message clearly states, you can only use latin numbers and characters on your username.