Elxis CMS Forum

Support => Language => Topic started by: bully on May 15, 2018, 14:45:48

Title: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: bully on May 15, 2018, 14:45:48
To those, who know.

I found out, that I am actually "loosing " translations,
Yes, they appear on site, but lost within second language selector, when editing.
Yes, I can create the page... and place content into the translation. After saving, leaving and returning, the secondary language "translation" is just "gone"

I really have no clue, what might be the cause, cache cleared.

Platform   Elxis
Version   4.6
Revision number   1958

Bully
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: datahell on May 15, 2018, 20:16:09
You have to click the save icon to save the translation!

Language and multilingual content > Adding multilingual content
http://www.elxis.net/docs/using-elxis/administration/language-multilingual-content.html (http://www.elxis.net/docs/using-elxis/administration/language-multilingual-content.html)
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: bully on May 16, 2018, 10:35:35
Yes, it is saved. The translation appears on the website as well in within the MySQL database, but not in the translation field of the article.
The translation appears empty. Entering something, will replace the whole previous saved content.
After again saving and reopen the content, again the translation field is empty, whilst the last change appears within the the MySQL database.

In other words: the translation field doesn't retrieve any data from the database, just submit

Bully
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: datahell on May 16, 2018, 21:56:13
This happens on ANY translation (menus, article titles, categories, etc) item or just a specific one? Try something: Write something very simple, without special characters, quotes, etc, like "test", it acts the same? If the problem persists I have to see it live to find out what is happening.
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: bully on May 17, 2018, 10:23:23
Hi datahell,

it just happens on all translation (German) in a particular website, base language english, on the BODY only. In the details Tab, the translations are kept, as normal.
The 'loss' of the translation is in all articles, but appear on the site as well are existing in the database.
All content is just standard html, nothing fancy or scripted

Bully
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: bully on May 17, 2018, 10:38:01
I also have made a test page. The same. After saving/leaving, the translations are "gone", despite in the database
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: xmanhattan on May 18, 2018, 12:10:22
Hello bully,

I was confused at first regarding second languages too. 
Here is an image in case you didn't use the right save button.
I hope it helps.

Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: bully on May 19, 2018, 06:20:19
But without saving it goes into the database for being saved? Personally I doubt that.
Yes, I have all sites, not only one,  multilingual.
With your suggestion, I only would have one language per site and notice that after years.
Again, here for reading:
The translation exists in site and in database, just the  translation appears empty after saving /leaving the page. Any change will overwrite existing translation, which again will be "gone after" saving/leaving.
I am sorry, it's not that, but something else
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: bully on May 21, 2018, 09:00:21
Nobody has a useful Idea?
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: webgift on May 22, 2018, 15:19:09
If the problem persists I have to see it live to find out what is happening.
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: bully on May 23, 2018, 08:58:47
Happy, to make you an account
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: webgift on May 31, 2018, 13:06:15
Hello @bully,
i finally checked this out and i send you my reply here as it can be accessed by anyone
is interested for.
Everything is working great. Please click on the floppy disc icon when you have chosen
any other language than the default one (in your case is German). By the time you finish
with the translations and have clicked the floppy disc icon per case then click on save/apply
button at the top right area.

I have modified an article for your reference.
[English] yourwebsite.com/test.html
[German] yourwebsite.com/de/test.html.
You have to login as administrator at first. Replace yourwebsite.com with the one of yours!

Once you confirm the above, please remove any access you have already sent me.
Thank you.
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: Eleanna on November 09, 2018, 13:30:40
I don't know if you are still interested, but, I have a question. Do you use Chrome do edit your article?
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: bully on November 09, 2018, 14:01:01
Hi..,

yes, using Chrome or Firefox normally, but also tested with Konqueror and chromium .
The issue was the same pver all prowsers, even on android.

After rebuilding the WHOLE website, it was working again
I also did a database compare - the old one and the newly build one with KOMPARE, again, nothing to see, which might have caused the problem.
As for now it's still working (again) as well as the other multi-lingual sites.

thanks for asking
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: Eleanna on November 12, 2018, 09:30:42
So you didn't find any solution... The thing is that the same thing happens to us also and we haven't found why. It seems though, that Chrome tends to show the problem rather than Firefox.
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: bully on November 12, 2018, 10:31:18
Hi,

I am not bound to Chrome, however, that was across all possible browsers, with and without clean cache. The rebuild did fix it, I just could not find any differences in database or files in the problem site and rebuild site.
And rebuilding is a endless hassle.
If i ever happens again, I just will do updates via the database, aslong the cause can't be found.

Yes, I found the solution, but not cause or reason, as files and database SQL files where really exactly the same when searching.
The newly build just did work. where the old just didn't

only difference was somehow the elxis key - but that should not be a cause

Bully
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: datahell on November 12, 2018, 18:50:38
To answer your question I must debug locally Elxis at your site. However here is a question of mine (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/52247734/strange-behaviour-when-input-element-switches-type-to-hidden) (mostly a bug report) at stack overflow showing strange browsers behavior (DOM and javascript). Which browser does it right is a matter of point of view. However I believe firefox is the correct one and strict to W3C standards.

Something relative: The translations system has changed completely in the upcoming Elxis 5.x. I post a screenshot.
Title: Re: Loosing "Translations"
Post by: bully on December 10, 2018, 21:21:40
I doubt, there is a solution, as long no cause there is sure no solution,
At least the rebuilding did "fix" it, but surely not, as really each BIT was equal. At least it was a good practice experience.